County Council Seeks More
Nursing Center Control
  Saluda County Council gave second reading Mon., July 13,  to an ordinance that will give Council authority over the hiring of the administrator and chief financial officer at Saluda Nursing Center.
  The ordinance also says council will prescribe the duties and responsibilities of the nursing center board.
  Council Chairman Don Hancock said he disagreed with Council being in charge of the hiring, saying that should continue to be the responsibility of the nursing center board.
  Hancock said the council has put more medical professionals on the board, and they should know how to hire.
  Hancock was the only Council member to vote against second reading.
  Council approved awarding the bid for E911 radio consoles to AVTEC. A committee composed of Gwen Shealy, Josh Morton, Ashley Turner, Roger Bush and DJ Miller gave AVTEC the highest score among three bids, even though it submitted the lowest bid.
  Morton, emergency management director, said AVTEC submitted a bid of $116,118, plus $9,623.75 annual maintenance fee. The bid was over $50,000 lower than the two other bids. Morton said AVTEC’s bid was so low, because the company builds it own equipment, while the other companies job the equipment out.
  Morton said the county had been awarded a $75,000 hospital preparedness grant, which will go toward the project, so the county’s expenditure will be reduced to around $50,000.
  Council approved the contract, with the funds to come out of contingency.
  A multijurisdictional agreement for law enforcement around Lake Murray was approved. Taking part in the agreement are the Saluda, Lexington, Richland and Newberry sheriff’s departments and DNR.
  Council approved the purchase of a 2010 Ford Crown Victoria police interceptor from S&S Salvage for $6,300. Sheriff John Perry recommended buying the 75,000 mile car rather than putting any more money into the 2010 Ford F150, with 206,000 miles.
  Chief Deputy Chris Crouch said equipping and striping the car will cost up to $3000. Crouch said equipment from the truck can be transferred to the car, which will shave costs off the equipment estimate. The car will be funded through the vehicle reserve fund. When the truck is sold, the proceeds will  go to the fund.
  First reading was given to an ordinance to execute a quit claim deed to Rhonda W. Browning. This is a 30-ft. piece of road that will go to Ms. Browning and be removed from the county system.
  Council approved the reappointment of Edwin Riley as the Saluda Fire Department’s representative on the Saluda County Fire Board.
  Hancock said the way he interpreted the Fire Board ordinance, Riley was ineligible to be reappointed because he had already served two terms.
  Calling Riley an outstanding public servant, Hancock said he would still vote against the appointment because of the way he read the ordinance.
  Councilman William Pugh said finding people to serve on the boards is difficult, and perhaps no one else at the Saluda Fire Department wanted to serve on the Board.
  “Maybe, we should change the ordinance,” Pugh said.


Former County Agents Inducted
Into Extension Hall of Fame
  CLEMSON —  Two former Saluda County Agents were among the three to be recently inducted into the A. Frank Lever County Extension Agent Hall of Fame.
  Retired Clemson University Extension agents  Bill Craven and Bill Riser, who served from many years in Saluda County were inducted, along with Rowland Alston, for their service to South Carolina residents and commitment to help improve the state’s economy.
  The nationwide Cooperative Extension Service, which traces its roots to South Carolina, takes research-based agricultural and food-science knowledge from colleges and universities and, through the work of Extension agents, puts it in the hands of working people. It was created by the Smith-Lever Act of 1914, legislation that was co-authored by U.S. Rep. Frank Lever, a Lexington County native and Clemson trustee.
The hall of fame was created last year as Clemson University celebrated the 100th Anniversary of the Cooperative Extension Service to celebrate the careers of longtime county Extension agents.
  “These are unsung heroes. They don’t receive recognition, but they work everyday to improve the lives of South Carolinians,” said Clemson Extension Director Thomas Dobbins.
  About the inductees:
Bill Craven
  William H. “Bill” Craven Jr. was a firm believer in farmer collaboration. While a county Extension agent in Saluda County from 1956 to 1971, he spearheaded the creation of farmer-owned and –operated cooperatives, such as Central Milk Producers, Saluda Artificial Breeding Cooperative, Ridge Mutual Ginnery and Ridge Farmers Mutual. Author of a weekly news column and host of a regular radio show, Craven long promoted agriculture in South Carolina and was a strong supporter of agriculture research at the Edisto Research and Education Center as well.
  Before his time in Saluda County, Craven was an assistant county agent in Edgefield County from 1953 to 1956. He continued his Extension career with the University of Georgia until 1989, hosting a regular television show that frequently featured agents and specialists from Clemson Extension.
  “When I told daddy about this award and asked him what to talk about, he said, ‘talk about the farmer.’ He loved farmers,” said Craven’s daughter, Pamela Craven McKinsey, who accepted the award because Craven was unable to attend. “Agriculture was his passion, his life. It’s who he was.”
Bill Riser
  William “Bill” Riser worked for Clemson Extension for more than three decades, from 1957 to 1989, at appointments in Aiken, Saluda and Richland counties, but his service to the citizens of South Carolina did not end there. He served in the S.C. House of Representatives for 11 years following his retirement from Clemson.
  Riser was instrumental in ensuring a bright future for South Carolina agriculture through his support of 4-H and the development of the Central Milk Producers Show and Sale Arena, as well as the creation of the Saluda County Cattleman’s Association, the Annual Feeder Calf Sales and the Saluda Fatstock Shows at Saluda Livestock Market. A tireless promoter of Clemson Extension and South Carolina agriculture, Riser also was a regular contributor to WIS TV and The State newspaper in Columbia.
  Riser said after the induction ceremony that he took particular pride in teaching youth about farming through 4-H, Extension’s youth-development program.
  Rowland P. Alston is a recognizable face to many South Carolinians, having developed, planned and hosted the award-winning television show “Making It Grow” on South Carolina ETV from 1993 to 2012.
  Alston, Craven and Riser became the second class inducted into the Hall of Fame and the hall’s first living members. The inaugural class included Lever and seven others.
  Clemson Extension intends to induct another class in November.