Food Collections

The Numbers Are In

  What can we say! the Saluda County STUFF A AMBULANCE brought 800+ food items back to Saluda from “One Saluda Day” at the Columbia Fireflies game on May 22.
  All items were dropped off this morning with Deb from Christ Central.
  There are so many people to thank for this community outreach event and its success.
  First we would like to thank our sponsers: Cromley Ford, Punks PB&Jam, Crouch’s Hardware, Do it Best Hardware, Kelly White State Farm, H&R Block,
Southeastern Helicopters.
  Our businesses offering discounts: PUNKS PB & Jam, Three Maria’s,  Root 121, Southern Roots, A Touch of Country, File and Style, Migs.
  Be sure to support both sponsors and discount offers.
  Thanks to SHS printing dept. (theie work is amazing) Ralph Shealy and Saluda Standard Sentinel, Burton and Saluda Now, Twin City News and the Fireflies for advertising.
  A huge shout out to Brian Vacchio who helped us orchestrate this event with the Columbia Fireflies. Also thanks to all those who brought canned goods and helped us work the event.
  It took all to make this a success.
  We are truly blessed to be a part of a community that cares.

SHS Junior Marshals - 1st row- Kenya Aguirre, Katie Altman, Esther Joaquin, Diana Lezama Escandon, Wilfredo Lopez Perez; 2nd row- Daniel Jones, Aydan Gantt, Abby Robertson, Caroline Warren. (SHS photo)

Soil & Water Conservation
Recognizes Farmers

  The Saluda Soil and Water Conservation District awarded their Annual 2020 Conservation Farmer of the Year Award to Barbara Oxner Poultry and the 2021 Conservation Farmer of the Year Award to Persimmon Poultry.  
  Barbara Oxner and Dray Wannamaker were presented with a plaque and sign for their outstanding achievements at the Saluda Soil and Water Conservation District’s, Spring Awards Banquet on May 2, 2022.  The Banquet was held at T & S Farm Banquet Hall in Leesville, S.C.
  Barbara and Dray work diligently to conserve our natural resources by implementing many conservation practices throughout their farms on behalf of the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and the Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP).    
  Congratulations to Barbara Oxner and Dray Wannamaker on your outstanding achievements.